#### **Education**

Cap. 41.

# EDUCATION (PARTIAL ZONING) ORDER, 1996

1996/42.

**Authority:** This Order was made on 29th March, 1996 by the Minister under section 4A of the *Education Act*.

Commencement: 4th April, 1996.

- **1.** This Order may be cited as the *Education (Partial Zoning) Order, 1996.*
- **2** For the purposes of section 4A of the *Education Act*, Barbados is divided into the 3 zones described in the *First Schedule*.

First Schedule.

**3.** The secondary schools allocated to each zone are specified in the *Second Schedule*.

Second Schedule.

- **4.** (1) Every parent or guardian of a pupil who writes the Barbados Secondary Schools Entrance Examination shall have a choice of 9 schools, of which the first 2 are in any of the 3 zones and the remaining 7 are within the zone in which the pupil lives.
- (2) Every parent or guardian shall have the right to indicate a preference for the school which he wishes his child or ward to attend.
  - 5. Notwithstanding sub-paragraph (2) of paragraph 4,
  - (a) each secondary school shall accept at least 30 per cent of the pupils from within its zone even if all of those pupils do not attain the normal range of marks for admission; and
  - (b) every pupil who writes the Barbados Secondary Schools Entrance Examination shall be allocated a place at a secondary school
    - (i) on the basis of the marks attained, the choices selected and the capacity of the school; and
    - (ii) on the basis of his residence.

#### FIRST SCHEDULE

(Paragraph 2)

#### **ZONES**

#### A. Zone 1 comprises

- (a) the parishes of St. Lucy, St. Peter and St. James and the district of Arch Hall in the parish of St. Thomas; and
- (b) the area in the parish of St. Michael west of the point at which the boundaries of the parishes of St. James, St. Michael and St. Thomas converge, and thence in a southerly direction along Highway 2A to the Simpson Motors roundabout, in an easterly direction along the Barrow section of the Adams-Barrow-Cummins Highway to the Warrens roundabout, thence in a southerly direction along Highway 2 to Eagle Hall and thence in a northerly direction along Highway 1 to its junction with Bridge Gap, along Bridge Gap, in a northerly direction along Goodland Road, in a westerly direction along Deacon's Road, Exmouth Gap and thence across the Spring Garden Highway to the coast, and thence in a northerly direction along the coast to the point at which the St. James and the St. Michael boundaries converge, and thence in an easterly direction along the boundary of St. Michael and St. James to the point at which the boundaries of the parishes of St. James, St. Michael and St. Thomas converge.

# **B**. Zone 2 comprises

- (a) the parishes of St. Andrew, St. Joseph, St. Thomas (excluding Arch Hall) and St. George; and
- (b) the area in the parish of St. Michael east of the point at which the boundaries of the parishes of St. Thomas and St. Michael converge at the Warrens roundabout, thence in a southerly direction along Highway 2A to Eagle Hall, and thence in a northerly direction along Highway 1 to its junction with Bridge Gap, along Bridge Gap, and thence in a northerly direction along Goodland Road, and thence in a westerly direction along Deacons Road and Exmouth Road, and thence across the Spring Garden Highway to the coast, and thence in a southerly direction along the coast to the point at which the boundaries of the parishes of St. Michael and Christ Church converge and thence in an easterly direction along the boundary of the parish of St. Michael with the parish of Christ Church to

the point at which that boundary converges with the boundary of the parish of St. George, and thence in a northerly direction along the boundary of the parish of St. Michael with the parish of St. George to the point at which it converges with the boundary of the parish of St. Thomas, and thence in a westerly direction along the boundary of the parish of St. Michael with the parish of St. Thomas to the Warrens roundabout.

### C. Zone 3 comprises

the parishes of St. John, St. Philip and Christ Church.

SECOND SCHEDULE

(Paragraph 3)

## **Secondary Schools**

## Zone 1

- 1. Alexandra School
- 2. Alma Parris School
- 3. Coleridge and Parry School
- 4. Ellerslie Secondary School
- 5. Queen's College
- 6. St. James Secondary School
- 7. St. Lucy Secondary School

### Zone 2

- 1. The Alleyne School
- 2. Combermere School
- 3. Grantley Adams Memorial School
- 4. Harrison College
- 5. Louis Lynch Secondary School
- 6. Parkinson Memorial School
- 7. St. George Secondary School
- 8. St. Leonard's Boys School
- 9. St. Leonard's Girls School

# Zone 3

- 1. Christ Church Foundation School
- 2.
- Deighton Griffith School
  Garrison Secondary School
  Lodge School
  Princess Margaret Secondary School
  St. Michael's School
  Springer Memorial School 4.5.6.7.